The home page shows five short rankings, then every can in the catalogue in one table. This is how they order them.
The five rankings on the home page
Each one follows a single criterion, read off each product page, and is worked out again when a page changes.
- The strongest: caffeine per can, from the highest dose down. Cans with the same dose are listed alphabetically.
- Best sugar-free: only cans with 0 g of sugar on the label, ranked by caffeine per can, from the highest dose down.
- The lightest: calories per can, from the lightest up. With equal calories, the one with less sugar comes first.
- The mildest: caffeine per can, from the lowest dose up, leaving out caffeine-free cans. With the same dose, the lower caffeine per 100 ml comes first.
- Big cans: cans of 500 ml and over, ranked by caffeine per can. With the same dose, the larger can comes first, then the one with less sugar.
A can whose label does not state the value a ranking uses is left out of that ranking. A product appears only once in each, even if it comes in several sizes.
The full table: the default order
By default, cans are sorted by caffeine per can, from the highest dose to the lowest. It is the caffeine in the whole can, whatever its size: at 32 mg per 100 ml, a 500 ml can holds 160 mg and a 250 ml can 80 mg.
Sorting and filtering
Click a column heading to sort the table by caffeine per can, caffeine per 100 ml, sugar, calories, taurine or can size. Click it again to reverse the order.
The filters narrow the list by brand, the brand’s country, can size, sugar (sugar free or with sugar) and caffeine dose (150 mg and over, or caffeine free). The search box finds a can by its name or brand.
Missing values
When a label does not state a value, that can goes to the bottom of the list when you sort on that column, in either direction. Zero is a value: a sugar-free can counts as 0 g, not as a missing figure.
What plays no part
There is no score, no star rating and no tasting note. Price and affiliate links have no effect on the order.
The values come from the label published by the manufacturer, from Open Food Facts or from a retailer’s product sheet; each product page names its source.
Who runs the site and how it is funded: About.
